I am running in memory of my dad.

This weekend was the “last long run” weekend and the beginning of taper time!  Due to safety concerns, the Dana Farber team ran an out and back route from Boston College to Natick.  The other charity teams ran from Hopkinton to Boston College.

My goal for the run was to not leave my best run out on the course like I have done in the past.  I ran mainly with 5 other DFMC’ers (Linn, Danielle, Sarkis, Steve, and Greg), but we were always surrounded by lots of other runners.  Danielle is also one of my Back on my Feet volunteers and is running for Dana Farber in memory of her mother who passed away from cancer.

I am sad to know that others my age have also lost a parent.  It is sad to know that a parent will miss out on milestones in their child’s life.  I do not wish the loss of a parent on anyone.

Me and my dad in the office.

My dad came to the United States in 1969 to sell kung fu shoes.  He built an entire family business from kung fu shoes and slippers.  My dad worked very hard and was able to provide everything for me and my siblings.  My siblings and I did not spend time at summer camp or girl scouts.  We all worked in the family store in our free time and it gave me a taste of my parents’ hard work.

My dad also co-founded the New York Chinese Business Association in New York City and worked with local businessmen to help support the growth of the Chinese community in New York.  The association also helped support local charities and gave scholarships to local Chinese American students.

Fostering relationships with the local government was another important part of the NYCBA.

The Ellis Island Medals of Honor are presented to Americans of diverse origins for their outstanding contributions to their own ethnic groups and to American society.

My dad was a recipient of an Ellis Island Medal of Honor in 1994.  The ceremony was on the night of my sister, Janet’s graduation from Boston University so after attending graduation in the morning, my mom and my dad rushed back to NYC to attend the award ceremony.

When my dad got sick, I was 13 and I did not fully understand what was going on or the gravity of the situation.  I do have very vivid memories of my dad’s last year.  Besides the trips to the hospital, I remember fondly our last trip to Disney World together.  My dad worked at the China Pavilion in Epcot for a short period and maintained relationships with co-workers there so we always went back to visit.  We always stayed at a hotel outside of Disney, but on that last trip, we stayed at Disney’s Wildnerness Lodge.  We made our rounds to the Magic Kingdom, Epcot, and Sea World.  We even went to see Air Force One (starring Harrison Ford) in the movie theater.  It was the first and only time that I went to the movies with my dad and my mom.

My dad saw me graduate from junior high school and saw me start freshman year at Stuyvesant High School.  I wish he was able to see more.

Even though I did not have a very long relationship with my dad, I see a lot of him in me.  Leadership and a compassion to help others is in my blood.  I credit my dad for my dimples too.  Some people have even said that I look more like my dad than my mom.  I did look like a boy when I was younger so maybe there is some truth to that.

There isn’t a day that I don’t think about my dad and wish he were still here.  Take the time to call your dad today and thank him for everything he’s done for you.  Call him because he won’t be around forever.

Donate to my run to help me fight cancer so that others do not have to lose their parents.

Fundraising Update!  Thank you to those who have already donated to my run!   It means a lot to me!!   I am close to my goal of $5,000!!  Help make it happen!

If you haven’t donated yet, you can donate here www.runDFMC.org/2012/bettyy

Honor Roll of Donors:

-My Reach the Beach buddy, Greg

-My best friends, Gene & Andy

-Nurses on my unit, Debbie & Linda

-My sister, Janet!

-My aunts from Hong Kong, Amy and Sophia

-Customers from my dad’s store

-My co-worker and fellow OT, Patricia

-My date auction winner, Jonathan =)

-My old running friend from Forever Fit days, Heather

-My old running buddy, April

-My Run Club buddy, Patrick

-My brother in law’s cousin, Corey Chin

-My sister’s bridesmaid, Ketty Lieu

-My BOMF buddies, Mary Martini & Joslynn Lee

-Stuy buddy, Mogan Shieh

-Mrs. Chin’s daughter, Patti Liang

-Mrs. Chin’s son, Wayman Chin

-Mr. Chin

-My SLP co-worker, Katrina Bernstein

-My OT classmate, Sue Boyle

-My aunt and uncle from HK, Ann and Benny Chan

-BMC Residents, Rajni Tanden & Mike Tran

-My mom

-My nieces, Jo Jo and Val

-My realtor, Ryan Persac

-My Aussie friend, Matt Ho

-My high school co-captain, Tiffany Choi

-My grandmother

-My uncle, Davy

-One of my best friends from high school, Carolyn Chan

-My buddy Laura’s husband, Christopher Liston

-My running buddy, Glen Graubart

-My aunt, Chris

-My Boston running buddy, Jan Nygren

3 thoughts on “I am running in memory of my dad.

Leave a comment